Greater Houston Section

ACS-GHS 2021 Student Awards

21 May 2021 6:58 PM | ACS GHS (Administrator)

2021 Student Awards Program

The ACS-GHS 2021 Student Awards were presented on May 20th. Opening the proceedings was Dawn Friesen, 2021 ACS-GHS Chair, who welcomed the guests and managed the online Zoom event.

The Science and Engineering Fair (SEFH) Chemistry Category winners in both the Senior and Junior Divisions were on hand to present their excellent projects. Larry Dennis, ECH Liaison, recognized the teachers and schools while presenting the student awards in each category. Congratulations to all the SEFH Students on their excellent achievement in the category of Chemistry!

SEFH Junior Division First Place Winner

Sophia Perone and teacher, Janice Horton

SEFH Senior Division First Place Winner

Zhi-Wei “Steven” Zeng and mentor, Ying Feng

Chemistry Olympiad

Students participating in the ACS-GHS Chemistry Olympiad were recognized for their performance and achievements. The U.S. National Chemistry Olympiad (USNCO) is a multi-tiered chemistry competition in 3 stages. The Local Chemistry Olympiad Competition is open to all high school students. ACS Local Sections choose nominees for the national exam. The nominated students can participate in the National Chemistry Olympiad Competition, which involves three parts administered to more than 1,000 students nationwide.

Top performing student(s) at each school were given a prize by the ACS-GHS beside the national competition qualifiers. This year, 221 students from 26 schools joined in the local competition.

Only the 20 top scoring students from the National Exam qualify for the two-week Study Camp to undergo rigorous training. Based on their performance, four students are chosen to represent the U.S. at the International Chemistry Olympiad. ACS-GHS had two National Study Camp Qualifiers, Phoenix Wu and Yitian Zhu, both from Seven Lakes High School.

Dr. Ding-Shyue (Jerry) Yang, Chemistry Olympiad Coordinator for the Greater Houston Section, presented the awards. Also acknowledged were the teachers’ efforts to make this event possible and successful.

Many thanks to Dawn Friesen, Roxie Allen, Jerry Yang, Lisa Houston and Kerry Spilker for organizing the event. The YouTube link to the ACS-GHS Student Awards recording can be found at:

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software