Greater Houston Section


ACS-GHS Joe W. Hightower Award

(formerly the Section Award)


Michael Wong, Rice University

Award Criteria

Purpose: To provide recognition for meritorious contributions to the welfare and distinction of the Section, as demonstrated by contributions to education, research, Sectional service or community service.

Nature: The award consists of an ACS major award plaque and usually is presented in October..

Establishment and supportThe award was established in 1969 by vote of the Section Executive Board and is supported by Section funds.  It was renamed the Joe W. Hightower in 2015, to honor the service to the Section of the late Professor Hightower.

Rules of EligibilityA nominee must be an ACS member who resides within the Section. Contributions recognized by the award must have been performed while the recipient was a resident of the Section area.

Four Required Nomination Components:

  • Nomination letter, not exceeding two pages;
  • Two seconding letters, each of which contains information that is significantly different from that in the other and from the nominating letter; and
  • A curriculum vitae or resume that includes a list of the nominee’s honors, professional activities, and additional evidence of service to the profession.  

Submit completed Nominations to Lisa Houston at

The award is presented at the Fall Awards Banquet.


Past Award Winners

2017 - Vassiliy Lubchenko, University of Houston

2016 - Jeffrey Rimer, University of Houston

2015 - Walter Waddell, ExxonMobil

2014 -George Hirasaki, Rice University

2013 - George Bennett, Rice University

2012 - R. Bruce Weisman, Rice University

2011 - James F. Stevens, Chevron, Retired

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software