Greater Houston Section


ACS-GHS Younger Chemist Award


Crystal Young, University of St. Thomas

Award Criteria

Purpose: To provide recognition of an emerging young chemist to the welfare and distinction of the Greater Houston Section, as demonstrated by contributions to education, research, Sectional service and/or community service.

Nature: The award consists of an ACS major award plaque and Honorarium and is presented at the ACS-GHS Fall Awards Banquet.

Rules of Eligibility: A nominee must be an ACS member who resides within the Section and be ≤35 years of age as of December 31st of the award year. Contributions recognized by the award must have been performed while the recipient was a resident of the Section area.

Required Nomination Components:

  • Nomination letter, not exceeding two pages;
  • 1-2 seconding letters; and
  • A curriculum vitae or resume that includes a list of the nominee’s honors, professional activities, and additional evidence of service to the profession.  

Submit completed Nominations by September 15, 2020 at


Past Award Winners

2018 - Jakoah Brgoch, University of Houston

2017 - Tom Teets, University of Houston

2016 - Eme Abu, Houston Community College

2015 - Loi Do, University of Houston

2014 - Catherine Faler, ExxonMobil

2013 - Alvin Orbaek - Rice University

2012 - Michael Matson, University of Houston, Downtown

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software